Sydney University Particle Physics Group


The Sydney University Particle Physics Group (formerly known as the High Energy Physics Group or the Falkiner High Energy Physics Department) is part of the School of Physics, which is in the Faculty of Science at the University of Sydney.

High Energy, or Particle, physics involves the study of the world of subatomic particles by observing the collisions of particles accelerated either naturally (as in cosmic rays) or using accelerators. Our group is currently involved in experimental research involving the Belle/Belle II and ATLAS projects, as well as in theoretical particle physics research.

We are a node of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Particle Physics at the Terascale, along with groups at the Universities of Melbourne, Adelaide and Monash, and a member of the Sydney Consortium for Particle Physics and Cosmology (Sydney-CPPC), along with the University of New South Wales.

Our areas of research are

You can find out more about our work in these areas here. There are excellent opportunities for new students in any of our research areas.

We would like to acknowledge the funding agencies that provide us with support.

Coepp logo
Visit CoEPP Pages